What is Tamari?
Tamari is considered the “original” Japanese soy sauce, and is produced as a by product of miso production, in which soya beans are fermented to make a paste. The rich flavour comes from an abundance of amino acids derived from soya protein. It is typically used in many asian inspired dishes, but also lends itself to any dish requiring seasoning or additional depth of flavour.
Health benefits of Tamari
As well as being useful in salt reduction (see below) Tamari provides niacin (vitamin B3), manganese, and protein, as well as tryptophan. Tryptophan is an essential amino acid in the human diet, and helps to make serotonin, one of the key brain chemicals involved in regulating mood, and keeping us calm, relaxed, and help to get a good nights sleep.
The difference between Tamari and Soy Sauce
Similar tasting to conventional soy sauce, Tamari can be used a gluten-free substitution, as it is naturally wheat free, with a rich, full-bodied taste. Typical soy sauce production uses wheat and soya, and is therefore not gluten-free. Most tamari brands are labelled as gluten-free, however if you have an intolerance or an allergy, it’s always best to check the manufacturers label. Tamari is often a deeper brown, and slightly thicker, than ordinary soy sauce.
Using Tamari as a salt substitution
Tamari can be useful for people looking to reduce their salt intake, down to it’s low sodium count. The unique flavour does a marvellous job of seasoning the food and can be used as a salt substitution when ever a recipe calls for salt to be added. It is typically less salty then soy sauce, and can be used as a marinade, dipping sauce or in a stir fry.
Try Tamari in one of these recipes
Tamari brands supplied by Suma